1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dirty Century?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Greg, May 12, 2014.

1. Greg

Greg MTB Rider Staff Member

Since I started riding again I've been getting fitter and riding further for longer. I near always ride alone, so have no one to pace myself against, as a result I usually find I'm racing myself - harder, faster, longer - more often than not I peak too soon and the later part of the ride is hard going.

Anyway I got to wondering how far could I ride? 50, 75 ... 100miles?! How about the length of The Ridgeway since that’s local to me, only 87miles :eek: Could my butt take that on the saddle?! Could I ever get that fit... or crazy? It didn’t take long to find a great resource on the Dirty Century, the MTB equivalent of road bike century, and now that’s the goal. If I can do 75 then that’s not far off 87 ... and 87 is only 13miles short of a Dirty Century. Thinking about riding the length of The Ridgeway took me to the internet for advice on how to ride that far, which is how I found out about riding a dirty century, and then started reading this website which is pretty helpful!
    I wonder if I can do by the end of September? Talking is easy :p

2. Greg

Greg MTB Rider Staff Member

Well, no. Life always gets in the way and things get delayed, however I am still moving towards 100miles. I did try and push week after week to increase my distance but it wasnt long before I burned out, this was due to several things, tiredness and stress so generally not well rested physically and mentally. Nutrition and training/fitness, I didnt really appreciate how much difference eating correctly the day before and the morning before a long ride would make and my training hasnt been that at all.