1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cleaning your bike

Discussion in 'Maintenance' started by Sam, Sep 26, 2015.

1. Sam

Sam New Member

Hi everyone

I assume this is in the correct section :relaxed:

So I have just got myself a rockhopper had a GT avalanche for some time. My question is how often do you clean ? I have just done me chain with muck off and re lubed them but how often should I be doing this ?

Also in the rock hopper my disc breaks are making a rubbing noise I assume I have some mud caught how do I get this out ? Ride it out ?

Also any other cleaning tip etc would be great, I know not to clean too often, no pressure washer etc but I am very new to all this. And any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
    Sam

2. paulsmith73

paulsmith73 Member

Hi Sam and welcome! If my bike is muddy then I hose it down to get the mud off and diluted degreaser from Screw Fix on the drive train.
    What ever you do, don't use a jet wash on your bike, the force of the water will flush all the grease out the bearings in the hubs, bottom bracket and headset and you'll end up replacing them in no time.

3. Greg

Greg MTB Rider Staff Member

Only use a hose to rinse your bike off, a jet wash or pressure washer will force all the grease out of the bearings as Paul said. You won't notice it's happened until your bearings start to go.
    When I clean mine I spray it over with Mucoff, especially the cassette, chain and chain ring, soak the rest of the bike with water to loosen any dirt up. Then put the hose on the jet setting and that will get all the mud and crud off, if you have a soft bristle brush use that to free any stubborn muc. Stream water over the cassette whilst pedalling backwards to rinse all the junk off the chain, etc.

4. sboss86

sboss86 New Member